10 Days, 10 Countries, 10 Songs: Day 10

Thank you to everyone who has followed me on this 10 Day musical journey. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did!

For the final day of our tour, I am returning once more to Africa, this time to a superstar from Senegal.

If you have seen the movie, Black Panther, you will have heard some of his music. You may also know this artist through his collaborations with Peter Gabriel and Mumford and Sons. Immensely talented, grounded in tradition, but informed by the present, Baaba Maal is one of the most recognizable voices coming from West Africa today.

I like his sound, and I love this video for its colorful outfits, scenic landscapes, and energetic dance steps.

I also appreciate how Baaba Maal is able to engage with Western artists, yet remain true to his own cultural identity. That’s a model I hope many other younger musicians will follow.

Cover Image from Wikimedia Commons:

Skoll World Forum / CC BY (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)

2 thoughts on “10 Days, 10 Countries, 10 Songs: Day 10

Leave a comment